Ikom Archdeaconry

Ven. Dr. H. C. Ono

The Anglican Church was established in Ikom, central Senatorial District of Cross River State in May 1982 through the combined efforts of the present St. Barnabas, Anglican Church, Okuku, now in Yala Local Government Area; and, St. Peter’s Anglican Church, Igoli in Ogoja Local Government area of Cross River State. It was like a little mustard seed that has grown into great tree. Both Churches were then under the Enugu Diocese of the Anglican Communion.

The first Anglican Church Service started in Late Sam Okeke’s Driving School Workshop. Later, it moved to Asu-Egbe Primary School in 1982. Not too long after that a parcel of land was acquired at the present site of the Holy Trinity Anglican Church. A Church Building and Planning Committee was then set up with Mr. Samuel Okeke as its first Chairman. The Committee quickly went into action and began to put up the structure for the Church. On 11th July, 1982, the new Church was named Holy Trinity Anglican Church, Ikom. Mr. Fredrick Nwonwa was posted there as the first Church Teacher. The Committee was further enlarged to 19 members.

Holy Trinity Anglican Church, Ikom later became the centre of evangelism in the Central Senatorial District of Cross River State through the activities of parish Youths of the Holy Trinity Church, Ikom and the Zonal Youth Council. The members of the Holy Trinity Anglican Church, Ikom were also able to quickly establish other Churches including:

  1. Matthew’s Church, Ofatura – 23rd Sept. 1984
  2. Paul’s Anglican Church, Ugep – 18th Aug. 1985
  3. Phillip’s Ang. Church, Nkum Yala – 14th Oct. 1990

The Ogoja and Ikom Areas did not immediately become part of the Calabar Archdeaconry in Niger Delta Diocese. By God’s divine grace, the three years of controversy between the Anglican Diocese of Enugu and the Anglican Diocese of Calabar, which was created and inaugurated in 1990, came to an end in 1993. All the Churches in Ikom and other parts of the Central Senatorial District of the State were transferred to the newly created Anglican Diocese of Calabar along with others located in Ogoja Local Government Area of the State. The then Bishop of Calabar Diocese, The Rt. Rev. Dr. W.G. Ekpirikpo, JP (Late) visited Ikom on 23rd January, 1994.

Ikom Archdeaconry was created in 1999 with Holy Trinity Church, as the headquarters. Ikom Archdeaconry was therefore the first of the three Archdeaconries so far formally created in Calabar Diocese of the Anglican Communion. The Archdeaconry has continued to grow in scope and in spiritual service. As at today, we have not less than 44 preaching stations and churches in this area extending to Ogoja Road, Bendeghe-Ekiem, Obubra, Ofatura, Yakurr, Ugep etc.

Ikom District

Holy Trinity Anglican Church Ikom


Vicar = Ven. Dr. Harold Chukwudi Ono

+234 805 366 0193

Curate = Rev. Iheanya Possible Abiaso

+234 806 818 3190

Mission Worker = Somadina Samson Ekweruka

+234 703 659 2849

St. Timothy Ang. Church Ikom.

Mission Worker = Shedrach Uchechukwu Okorondu

St. Philip Ang. Ikom town

Pastor = Rev. Godwin Obi Bisong

St. John the Baptist Ratumakun.

Mission Worker = Evang. Keneth Okafor


Anglican Church of Pentecost Ikom.

Pastor = Rev. Dickson Uzoeto

+234 806 362 9908, +234 809 597 1369

Our Redeemer Anglican Church Okuruke, Yala nkum

Pastor = Rev. Kingsley Stephen Enang

St. Stephens Anglican Church Edor

Pastor = Rev. Nnadozie T. Okorie

St. Luke Anglican Church Okoroba, Yala nkum.

Pastor = Rev. Wisdom Onumajuru

St. David Church, Opuoweh

Mission Worker = Evang. Daniel Eze

St. Barth. Anglican Church Nde.

Mission Worker = Evang. Bestman Okafor

St. James Anglican church Alok.

Mission Worker = Evang Festus Ojong


Christ the King Anglican Church Ogada 2

Pastor = Rev. Augustin Onyeka Nwatu

St. Banabas Anglican Church, Ohana.

Pastor = Rev. Courage Okoro Kalu

Emmanuel Ang. Church Ogada 1

Pastor = Rev. Sunday Irek

All Souls Ang. Church Ochon

Pastor = Rev. Innocent Nnadi

St. John Church Ofunbogha 4

Church Agent = L/R. David Bassey


St. Jude’s Anglican Church Etomi

Pastor = Rev. Canon Lawrence Oguanya

+234 813 528 6724

Ebenezar Ang. Church Agbo kum

Pastor = Rev. Sanctus Ogar

Christ Anglican Church , Abia

Pastor = Rev Charles Eyo

234 703 369 0536


St. Mathias Ang, Church, Bashua Boki

Pastor = Rev. Malachy C. N Onugha

New Life Ang. Church Bendeghe Ekiem

Pastor = Rev Isreal Obiefule

Epiphany Ang. Church, Abo-ogba  Gente Boki

Pastor = Rev. Daniel Ugo

St. Philips Ang. Church Ekiemkae

Pastor = Rev. Christopher Anyanwu

St. Peters Anglican Church, Ochor Orimerkpenyi, Boki

Pastor = Rev.  Richard Ajaegbu


St Mathews Ang church Ofatura

Pastor = Rev.Canon Justin Ogbuji

+234 703 123 7911

St. Andrews Anglican  Church Ababene

Pastor = Rev. Albert Nweke

Anglican Church Iyamitet

Mission Worker = Evang Osinachi Ufomba

New Life Anglican Church Oyadama

Mission Worker = Evang David Egba

St. Michaels, Anglican Church Ofat

Mission Worker = Evang Jacob Agba

Anglican Church of Advent Ofodua

Mission Worker = Evang Iyamen John


St Pau’ls Ang. Church, Ugep

Pastor = Rev. Can. Thankgod Ogujiuba JP

+234 806 398 5329

Mission Worker = Evang Peter Eno Omin-Eno

St. Lukes Ang. Church Ifom Ugep

Mission Worker = Evang Charles Omin Arikpo

St Mary the Virgin, Anglican Church Ekori

Pastor = Rev. Augustine Maduka

Anglican Church of Ascension Mkpani

Mission Worker = Evang Daniel Ubana

All Saints Ang. Church Nko

Pastor = Rev. Charles Ukaoha

St Bartholomew’s Ang. Church Agoi-ibami

Mission Worker = Evang. Egwu Okoi-Onen

St. Johns Ang. Church Adim

Pastor = Rev. Alexander Nweke

St. Emmanuel Ang. Church Idomi

Mission Worker = Evang. Moses C. Mkpuma